ICmarkets

USD/CAD: Technical outlook and review.

FX:USDCAD   U.S. Dollar/Canadian Dollar
70 0 1
4hr TF.

The higher-timeframe picture resembles the following:

• Weekly TF: A push higher into a small weekly supply area at 1.10522-1.09996 has been seen, and at the time of writing, serious sellers appear to have come into the market.
• Daily TF: Price has been sold very heavily straight into a daily S/R flip level at 1.08277, where the buyers are beginning to show interest, and consequently capping price between the aforementioned daily S/R flip level, and a newly-formed daily supply above at 1.09967-1.09401.

It was reported in the last analysis after the break below of the round number 1.09, that we may see a retest of this level as resistance. This did happen, but trading on the 4hr timeframe, this was very difficult to catch, other than setting a pending sell order, but we try to avoid setting pending orders around round numbers, we prefer to wait for some confirmation before entering.
The 4hr demand area at 1.08441-1.08650 saw a vicious spike through it straight into an important S/D flip area at 1.08324-1.08092, no doubt stopping out any poor soul trying to fade the 4hr demand area!
Considering we are trading out of a heavy-weight weekly supply area (levels above), and currently trading around a daily S/R flip level (level above), we naturally expect to see lower prices still (higher timeframes usually overrule). However, before this happens, we must be prepared for a rally in price, as there are no doubt active buyers around the daily S/R flip level area to consume first. We will be watching the following areas for bearish price action: 4hr supply (1.09073-1.08883) where we have set a P.A confirmation sell level just below at 1.08856, 4hr supply (within daily supply at 1.09967-1.09401) at 1.09967-1.09807 where we have another P.A confirmation level set just below at 1.09777, and finally a fantastic-looking 4hr supply area above at 1.10388-1.10163 (pending sell order set below at 1.10127).

Pending/P.A confirmation levels:

• No pending buy orders (Green line) are seen in the current market environment.
• No P.A confirmation buy levels (Red line) are seen in the current market environment.

• Pending sell orders (Green line) are seen just below a 4hr supply area (1.10388-1.10163) at 1.10127. This area remains fresh, and likely contains unfilled sell orders indicating a bounce south at the very least will be seen if/when price reaches this area.
• New P.A confirmation sell levels (Red line) are seen just below 4hr supply (1.09073-1.08883) at 1.08856. The reasoning behind not setting a pending sell order here was simply because price could rally all the way back up to (in our opinion) a beautifully located 4hr supply area at 1.10388-1.10163.
• New P.A confirmation sell levels (Red line) are seen just below 4hr supply (1.09967-1.09807) at 1.09777. The reasoning behind not setting a pending sell order here was simply because price could rally all the way back up to (in our opinion) a beautifully located 4hr supply area at 1.10388-1.10163.

• Areas to watch for buy orders: P.O: No pending buy orders are seen in the current market environment. P.A.C: No P.A confirmation buy levels seen in the current market environment.

• Areas to watch for sell orders: P.O: 1.10127 (SL: 1.10440 TP: Dependent on how price approaches) P.A.C: 1.08856 (SL: Dependent on price action after the level has been confirmed TP: Dependent on approaching price action after the level has been confirmed) 1.09777 (SL: Dependent on price action after the level has been confirmed TP: Dependent on approaching price action after the level has been confirmed).
Ideas Scripts Chart
United States
United Kingdom
India
España
Italia
Brasil
Россия
Türkiye
日本
한국
Home Stock Screener Economic Calendar How It Works Chart Features House Rules Moderators For the WEB Widgets Stock Charting Library Priority Support Feature Request Blog & News FAQ Help & Wiki Twitter
Private Messages Chat Ideas Published Followers Following Priority Support Public Profile Profile Settings Billing Sign Out